Blog module icon

Library Blog



View All Posts

Sep 24

Booker Awards 2020

Posted on September 24, 2020 at 8:46 AM by Bobbie Clark

Here’s another book awards post! The Booker Awards’ shortlist was announced this month – these are UK-based fiction awards for either best fiction in the English language and best worldwide fiction. The worldwide category winner is chosen earlier in the year, so the winner is already announced below, but the English-language award was shortlisted a few days ago and the winner will be announced on November 17, 2020. The official criteria for the awards are as follows: 

THE BOOKER PRIZE: The leading literary award in the English-speaking world, which has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over 50 years. Awarded annually to the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK or Ireland. 

The 2020 shortlist is: 

The New Wilderness by Diane Cook (Oneworld Publications) Overdrive eBook 

Mournable Body by Tsitsi Dangarembga (Faber & Faber) 

Burnt Sugar
 by Avni Doshi (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House) 

The Shadow King
 by Maaza Mengiste (Canongate Books) 

 Bain by Douglas Stuart (Picador, Pan Macmillan) Overdrive eBook 

Real Life
 by Brandon Taylor (Originals, Daunt Books Publishing)      


THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE: Awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland. The vital work of translators is celebrated, with the prize money divided equally between the author and translator. The 2020 award in the category was announced in August. 

The 2020 shortlist and winner (in boldwas: 

  • The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree by Shokoofeh Azar (Farsi-Iran), translated by Anonymous, published by Europa Editions.  

  • The Adventures of China Iron by Gabriela Cabezón Cámara (Spanish-Argentina), translated by Iona Macintyre and Fiona Mackintosh, published by Charco Press.   

  • Tyll by Daniel Kehlmann (Germany-German), translated by Ross Benjamin, published by Quercus. Overdrive eBook 

  • Hurricane Season by Fernanda Melchor (Spanish-Mexico), translated by Sophie Hughes, Published by Fitzcarraldo Editions 

  • The Memory Police by Yoko Ogawa (Japanese-Japan), translated by Stephen Snyder, published by Harvill Secker Overdrive eBook 

  • The Discomfort of Evening by Marieke Lucas Rijneveld (Dutch-Netherlands), translated by Michele Hutchison, published by Faber & Faber Overdrive eBook 


This prize was formerly called the Man Booker Prize, which was founded in the 1960s and has been awarded yearly since that time. The International version of the prize was added in 2005.  

Since this is a UK-based award, the books on these lists may be harder to find in the US. The links on the books indicate that the Lewis & Clark Library has this item. If there is no link, we can try to Interlibrary Loan the book for you at no cost, or order it in eBook form if it is available. Please give us a call at 447-1690 to see if we can locate a copy for you. Happy Fiction Reading!!! 


You must log in before leaving your comment